Start a new topic
Implemented

Network Protocol / API

Hello,

I would like to use the LaMetric device in an internal network without internet access, i.e. independent from the cloud server. I would like to display data on the device that comes from an internal server of mine. This data is completely private, it's not accessible from the internet.

I'm a programmer myself (Python, C, and others, whatever is needed) and have programmed TCP/IP based client/server software in the past. So, I would like to write my own server software to control my LaMetric device. In order to do that, however, I need to have documentation about the network protocols (i.e. low-level network API) that the LaMetric device is using. I could try to reverse-engineer it, but that would probably be somewhat tedious.

So, I would like to ask for the "official" documentation of the LaMetric's network protocols. During the Kickstarter campaign it was promised that such documentation will be made available.

Best regards

- Oliver

11 people like this idea

I'm starting to feel worn out; have you heard anything from la metric? What exactly are we going to do???

geometry dash

Hey guys,

Wanted to inform you that we just released new firmware 1.5.0 and we have local push feature there. More details here. Local API mimics the one that you use to push data to cloud. Comments are appreciated.

Thank you!

Thanks for the hint, didn't realize it was available online!
Strange how it's dropbear that is running but openssh is also installed. it probably uses less RAM?
Meanwhile I'm trying to see if john can do something with that md5crypt, I'll keep you posted if I find anything, though I only have 8 thread, not a cluster...
But agreed, this should be more python based and with a proper local API, I hope they do this just after IFTTT they said they were prioritizing... :|
cheers!

Very easy, just like many router and other embedded device firmwares.